Nous examinons les produits de manière indépendante, mais nous pouvons percevoir des commissions si vous effectuez un achat en utilisant des liens d'affiliation sur notre site web.
Rating: 7.6 / 10 (Downloaded by users)
Visitez le site

Windows Defender Revision 2020

76%

Windows Defender Révision: Le Windows Defender est-il bon?

Windows Defender est l’outil anti-malware propriétaire de Microsoft qui est utilisé par défaut dans Windows 8.1 et Windows 10. À l’époque de sa création, il était plutôt mal conçu et inefficace, ce qui a provoqué un déferlement de critiques. Cependant, il a été sérieusement amélioré depuis lors, de sorte qu’en 2020, il a beaucoup à se faire aimer. Surtout parce qu’il est devenu l’un des meilleurs antivirus gratuits de son segment.

Total Vente flash AvAujourd’hui, il s’agit d’un antivirus complet qui offre une protection efficace contre les logiciels malveillants et quelques fonctions supplémentaires utiles. Il est hautement estimé par les principaux laboratoires de test AV du monde (bien qu’Avast free obtienne toujours un score plus élevé). Windows Defender détecte et supprime presque 100 % des cyber-menaces sans avoir un impact important sur les performances du système.

En même temps, le Defender ne dispose toujours pas de certaines fonctionnalités importantes offertes par les meilleures suites antivirus. De plus, ses performances ne sont pas totalement irréprochables, notamment en ce qui concerne les faux positifs. Enfin, Microsoft n’offre pas de support client dédié aux utilisateurs de Windows Defender.

Alors, Windows Defender est-il suffisant pour un utilisateur régulier? Cela dépend du type d’activité Internet de l’utilisateur, de ses attentes et de ses priorités. Les utilisateurs avancés peuvent opter pour d’autres produits antivirus qui couvrent tous leurs besoins: TotalAV, Avast ou Bitdefender

Pour et contre

Nous aimons:
  • Il est absolument gratuit
  • Il est livré préinstallé
  • Aucune incidence sur les performances du système
  • Protège efficacement contre les virus et les logiciels malveillants
  • A quelques beaux extras
  • Facile à utiliser
  • Protection des logiciels gratuits contre les rançons
Nous n’aimons pas:
  • Les résultats des tests sont mitigés
  • Le nombre de fonctionnalités supplémentaires est limité

Faits marquants

  • Offre une protection solide contre la plupart des types de logiciels malveillants
  • Dispose d’un pare-feu intégré
  • Protection contre le phishing pour les navigateurs IE et Edge
  • La fonction de contrôle parental est disponible
  • Fourni préinstallé dans le système d’exploitation Windows; la protection est activée par défaut

Caractéristiques

Tarification
Price
$0
Money back Guarantee
Balayage
Real-time Antivirus
Manual Virus Scanning
USB Virus Scan
Registry Startup Scan
Auto Virus Scanning
Scheduled scan
Threat type
Anti-Spyware
Anti-Worm
Anti-Trojan
Anti-Rootkit
Anti-Phishing
Anti-Spam
Chat/IM Protection
Adware Prevention
Compatibility
Windows
Mac
Android
IOS
Usage
Ease of use
Extra features
Personal Firewall
Parental Controls
Gamer Mode
VPN Service
Smartphone Optimizer
Device Tune-up
Safe browser
Support
Live Help
Phone support
Ticket support

Le meilleur pour

  • Débutants dans le domaine de l’utilisation des ordinateurs
  • Utilisateurs réguliers ayant des exigences de base en matière de protection
  • Ceux qui utilisent des ordinateurs faibles, qui ne peuvent pas supporter l’impact sur le système produit par les suites antivirus modernes

Fiabilité et sécurité

Avant de commencer à parler des caractéristiques et des capacités du logiciel, répondons à une question de première importance: Windows Defender est-il suffisamment performant pour vous protéger contre les virus et les logiciels malveillants? La réponse est oui, il l’est. Windows 10 Defender fait un travail décent pour trouver et supprimer la plupart des cyber-menaces. Cela est confirmé par les principaux laboratoires d’essai indépendants du monde.

AV-Test, qui est l’un des laboratoires les plus connus au monde, a classé à plusieurs reprises Windows Defender parmi les dix meilleurs logiciels antivirus en termes de fiabilité (en savoir plus sur le meilleur antivirus pour Windows 10). Bien qu’il soit capable de détecter jusqu’à 100 % des menaces connues et des menaces du jour zéro, le taux de « faux positifs » est légèrement supérieur à la moyenne.

D’autres grands laboratoires ont publié des chiffres moins rassurants en 2019. AV-Comparatives estime la suite de sécurité Defender à 98,4 points tout en mentionnant ses performances incohérentes et son taux élevé de faux positifs. Enfin, SE Labs ne lui donne qu’un score de 96 %, ce qui est assez faible si on le compare aux meilleures suites AV, telles que Bitdefender ou Kaspersky.

Dans nos tests, Windows Defender a détecté avec succès 100 % des menaces connues et 100 % des modèles inconnus (nouvellement créés). Cela dit, il a « trouvé » 2 fausses menaces – des logiciels inoffensifs qui ont été marqués comme suspects.

Options d’analyse

Antivirus Microsoft : Centre de sécurité Windows Defender

Par défaut, la protection en temps réel avec Windows Defender est activée. Cela signifie que le logiciel de sécurité fait constamment son travail en arrière-plan. Son impact sur le système est minime, donc dans la plupart des cas, vous ne le remarquez tout simplement pas. Dès qu’une nouvelle menace est détectée, vous recevez une notification du Defender.

En outre, vous pouvez à tout moment, si vous le souhaitez, lancer manuellement une analyse supplémentaire. Il vous suffit de choisir un dossier ou un fichier que vous souhaitez analyser et de cliquer avec le bouton droit de la souris. Dans le menu contextuel, choisissez Scan with Windows Defender et sélectionnez entre les options Full Scan, Custom Scan et Offline Scan dans le Centre de sécurité de Windows Defender.

Caractéristiques supplémentaires

Bien qu’on ne puisse pas dire que Windows Defender soit riche en fonctionnalités, il est tout de même plus qu’un simple antivirus. Il offre des fonctionnalités supplémentaires très utiles, que l’on trouve généralement dans les produits audiovisuels haut de gamme. En particulier, les fonctionnalités du pare-feu intégré et du contrôle parental méritent d’être mentionnées.

Le pare-feu est simple mais efficace pour une protection complète du réseau domestique. Vous pouvez gérer ses paramètres directement depuis le centre de sécurité Windows Defender. Choisissez manuellement les applications que vous souhaitez autoriser ou interdire à travers le pare-feu.

La fonction anti-phishing de Windows Defender fonctionne parfaitement pour les navigateurs « natifs » de Microsoft – Internet Explorer et Edge. Le problème est que la plupart d’entre nous utilisent activement des navigateurs alternatifs, tels que Google Chrome, Firefox, etc. Dans ce cas, il est nécessaire d’installer le plug-in du Defender séparément.

Windows Defender Revision - Le Windows Defender est-il bon?

De plus, Windows Defender offre la fonction de protection contre les logiciels de rançon. Franchement, c’est une sorte de base, mais ça marche. Pour protéger les fichiers importants contre le blocage et l’élimination ultérieure par les escrocs, vous pouvez stocker leurs copies en toute sécurité dans le nuage One Drive.

La fonction de contrôle parental dans Windows Defender est absolument merveilleuse, surtout si l’on tient compte du fait qu’elle est gratuite. Vous pouvez créer des comptes séparés pour tous les membres de la famille et les contrôler depuis le compte « principal » (admin). De plus, il est possible de définir divers paramètres et limites pour les différents comptes. Par exemple, vous pouvez protéger les enfants contre les contenus indésirables en fixant des limites dans le navigateur Edge et en bloquant l’accès aux autres navigateurs.

Protection contre les manipulations

Pour faire simple, TP empêche les logiciels malveillants de désactiver le Win Defender. Microsoft l’a rendu disponible dans le monde entier en octobre 2019, améliorant ainsi considérablement la sécurité de son produit antivirus. Selon la déclaration officielle, avec la protection contre les manipulations actives, les pirates ne pourront pas désactiver la protection en temps réel, dans le nuage et contre les menaces de virus.

De plus, le logiciel malveillant ne désactivera pas la surveillance du comportement, les mises à jour de sécurité et divers autres composants. Cette toute nouvelle fonctionnalité est désormais disponible pour les éditions gratuite et commerciale du Microsoft Defender. Les utilisateurs n’ont rien à faire pour l’activer: La protection contre les manipulations est automatiquement activée dès qu’ils mettent à jour l’antivirus.

Néanmoins, si vous souhaitez l’activer ou la désactiver, allez dans Démarrer, Sécurité des gains, Protection contre les virus/menaces, Paramètres, et cliquez sur « Activer » ou « Désactiver » dans le menu Protection contre les manipulations. N’oubliez pas que cette fonction n’est disponible que pour Windows 10.

Protection avancée contre les menaces Microsoft Defender

Il s’agit d’une plate-forme unifiée pour la protection en temps réel, préventive et après coup. L’entreprise propose un essai gratuit qui permet de tester le produit et de voir s’il convient ou non. La défense synchronisée est l’un des avantages les plus significatifs de l’ATP. Grâce à cette fonctionnalité, Microsoft 365 partage les ressources entre les appareils et les identités, ce qui signifie plus de sécurité.

N’oubliez pas: il s’agit d’une plateforme de protection des terminaux destinée aux entreprises. Grâce à des mises à jour constantes, la protection avancée contre les menaces peut facilement détecter les attaques de type « zero-day » et les brèches, et traiter les menaces immédiatement. Actuellement, elle est disponible pour Windows Server 2016, 2019 et 2012R2. La liste des systèmes d’exploitation comprend Win 10, 8.1 7 (SP1) et macOS.

Android, iOS et Linux sont également pris en charge (via des partenaires). Dans l’ensemble, le Microsoft Defender ATP est un outil puissant contre les menaces extérieures pour les propriétaires d’entreprises.

Puis-je l’utiliser sur mon Mac?

Il y a tout juste un an, tout le monde aurait ri si vous aviez posé cette question. Mais, depuis les dernières mises à jour, la société Microsoft a en fait introduit la protection antivirus pour les appareils MacOS: Microsoft Defender. Nous ne ferons pas d’examen séparé pour ce produit car il est assez simple et possède le même noyau antivirus que le Windows Defender. Il suffit de regarder la vidéo ou de suivre les instructions pour avoir une idée de son fonctionnement et de la façon de l’installer sur votre MacBook, iMac, Mac Mini ou Mac Pro. Attention: l’installation de ce produit peut s’avérer délicate pour les personnes non spécialisées dans la technologie. Il est donc préférable de demander de l’aide au cas où vous ne seriez pas sûr.

Performances de Windows Defender

Nous avons déjà mentionné, dans notre examen de Windows Defender, que ce logiciel a un impact minimal sur les performances du système. Il fait partie intégrante du système d’exploitation Windows 8 et Windows 10, de sorte qu’il fonctionne de manière aussi transparente que les autres composants de base du système. Il ne ralentit pas un ordinateur; dans la plupart des cas, son balayage en arrière-plan est absolument imperceptible.

Facilité d’utilisation

La facilité d’utilisation est une caractéristique importante de tout produit logiciel. Lorsqu’il s’agit d’utiliser Windows Defender, son interface est assez simple pour tous ceux qui ont déjà eu affaire à des produits Microsoft natifs. Mais même les utilisateurs inexpérimentés n’ont rien à craindre, car Windows Defender est préinstallé et ses fonctions de base sont activées par défaut.

Cela ne signifie pas pour autant que vous ne pouvez pas configurer Windows Defender en fonction de vos besoins. Les utilisateurs avancés peuvent facilement définir les paramètres souhaités en quelques clics. Pour ajuster les paramètres, ouvrez le Centre de sécurité de Windows Defender, qui se trouve dans la section Mise à jour et sécurité du menu Paramètres.

Assistance à la clientèle

La communauté Microsoft est l’une des plus importantes au monde. Elle propose de nombreuses FAQ détaillées et des forums où vous pouvez trouver des réponses à la plupart des questions. En outre, vous pouvez entrer en contact avec des spécialistes techniques directement par plusieurs canaux: chat en ligne, e-mail ou téléphone. Toutefois, il n’existe pas de support dédié pour Windows Defender; le service d’assistance couvre plutôt tous les produits Microsoft.

Le côté positif est que vous pouvez trouver des tonnes d’informations utiles sans avoir à contacter le service d’assistance à la clientèle. En revanche, si vous devez consulter directement un spécialiste technique, cela vous prendra plus de temps que prévu en raison de l’absence d’une ligne d’assistance dédiée.

FAQ Windows Defender

Les meilleures alternatives de défense des fenêtres

Vous cherchez de bonnes alternatives au Windows Defender? Nous pouvons vous aider:

Qu'est-ce que Windows Defender?

Il s'agit d'une solution antivirus intégrée utilisée par défaut dans Windows 8.1 et 10. Il s'agit d'une application gratuite, légère et facile à utiliser qui n'a pas d'impact sur les ressources du système. C'est donc un excellent produit pour les ordinateurs faibles ou pour ceux qui ne sont pas prêts à acheter un antivirus avancé.

L'utilisation de Windows Defender est-elle sûre?

En général, oui, c'est un produit assez fiable pour se protéger contre les dangers les plus populaires. Il ne nécessite pas beaucoup de ressources système et est presque invisible. En même temps, il n'est pas très efficace contre la majorité des logiciels malveillants et des logiciels de rançon avancés.

Windows Defender est-il suffisant pour les PC?

Non, pas si vous vous souciez de la sécurité et de la vie privée. Selon de nombreux tests effectués par différents laboratoires antivirus, Windows Defender ne donne pas de bons résultats. Cependant, il se place dans le top 10. Donc, si vous n'avez pas besoin d'une protection puissante, vous pouvez utiliser Windows Defender.

Comment puis-je activer Windows Defender?

Sur votre PC Windows 10, ouvrez Paramètres - Mise à jour & ; Sécurité - Sécurité Windows - Virus & ; Protection contre les menaces - Virus & ; Paramètres de protection contre les menaces - Gérer les paramètres - vérifier la protection en temps réel, Protection délivrée dans le nuage, Soumission automatique d'échantillons, Protection contre les manipulations. Lisez notre revue pour plus de détails.

Comment désactiver Windows Defender?

Sur votre PC Windows 10, ouvrez Paramètres - Mise à jour & ; Sécurité - Sécurité Windows - Virus & ; Protection contre les menaces - Virus & ; Paramètres de protection contre les menaces - Gérer les paramètres - décocher Protection en temps réel, Protection dans le nuage, Envoi automatique d'échantillons, Protection contre les manipulations. Lisez notre revue pour plus de détails.

We review products independently, but we may earn commissions if you make a purchase using affiliate links on our website.
win defender
Rating: 7.6 / 10 (Downloaded by users)
Visit site

Windows Defender Review 2020

win defender
76%

Windows Defender Review: Is Windows Defender any Good?

Windows Defender is Microsoft’s proprietary anti-malware tool that is used in Windows 8.1 and Windows 10 by default. At the time of its creation, it used to be rather cropped and ineffective, which caused an outpouring of criticism. However, it has been seriously improved since then, so in 2020, it has much to be loved for. Especially, because it became one of the best free antiviruses in its segment.

Total Av flash saleAs of today, it is a full-featured antivirus product that provides strong malware protection and some useful extras. It is highly estimated by the world’s leading AV testing labs (though Avast free still scores higher). Windows Defender detects and removes almost 100% of cyber threats without a heavy impact on the system performance.

At the same time, the Defender still lacks some important features offered by top antivirus suites. Also, its performance is not completely flawless, especially when it comes to false positives. Finally, Microsoft doesn’t offer dedicated customer support for Windows Defender users.

So, is Windows Defender enough for a regular user? It depends on the user’s type of Internet activity, his expectations, and priorities. Advanced users may want to opt for alternative antivirus products that cover all their needs: TotalAV, Avast or Bitdefender

Pros and Cons

We like:
  • It is absolutely free
  • It comes pre-installed
  • No impact on the system performance
  • Effectively protects from viruses and malware
  • Has some nice extras
  • Easy to use
  • Free ransomware protection
We don’t like:
  • Scores in the tests are mixed
  • The number of extra features is limited

Highlights

  • Provides robust protection from most types of malware
  • Has a built-in firewall
  • Phishing protection for IE and Edge browsers
  • Parental control feature is available
  • Comes pre-installed in Windows OS; protection is enabled by default

Features

Pricing
Price
$0
Money back Guarantee
Scanning
Real-time Antivirus
Manual Virus Scanning
USB Virus Scan
Registry Startup Scan
Auto Virus Scanning
Scheduled scan
Threat type
Anti-Spyware
Anti-Worm
Anti-Trojan
Anti-Rootkit
Anti-Phishing
Anti-Spam
Chat/IM Protection
Adware Prevention
Compatibility
Windows
Mac
Android
IOS
Usage
Ease of use
Extra features
Personal Firewall
Parental Controls
Gamer Mode
VPN Service
Smartphone Optimizer
Device Tune-up
Safe browser
Support
Live Help
Phone support
Ticket support

Best For

  • Beginners in the field of computer usage
  • Regular users with basic requirements for protection
  • Those using weak computers, which can’t bear the impact on the system produced by modern antivirus suites

Reliability and Security

Before we start talking about the features and the capabilities of the software, let’s answer one question, which is of primary importance: is Windows Defender good enough to protect you from viruses and malware? The answer is yes, it is. Windows 10 Defender does a decent job in finding and removing most cyber threats. This is confirmed by the world’s major independent testing labs.

AV-Test, which is one of the world’s best-known laboratories, has repeatedly ranked Windows Defender among top-ten antivirus software suites in terms of reliability (read about best antivirus for Windows 10). While it is capable of detecting up to 100% of known and zero-day threats, the rate of so-called false positives is slightly higher than average.

Other major labs published less reassuring figures in 2019. AV-Comparatives estimate Defender security suite at 98.4 points while mentioning its inconsistent performance and high rate of false positives. Finally, SE Labs gives it just a 96% score, which is quite low if compared to the best AV suites, such as Bitdefender or Kaspersky.

In our tests, Windows Defender successfully detected 100% of known threats and 100% of unknown (newly created) patterns. That said, it “found” 2 fake threats – harmless pieces of software that were marked as suspicious.

Scanning Options

Microsoft Antivirus: Windows Defender Security Center

By default, the real-time protection with Windows Defender is on. It means the security software is constantly doing its work in the background. Its impact on the system is minimal, so in most cases, you simply don’t notice it. As soon as a new threat is detected, you get a notification from Defender.

Besides, you may launch additional scanning manually at any moment if you wish. Just choose a folder or a file you want to scan and right-click it. In the context menu, choose Scan with Windows Defender and select between the Full Scan, Custom Scan, and Offline Scan options in the Windows Defender Security Center.

Additional Features

Though we can’t say that Windows Defender is rich in features, it is still more than just a bare antivirus. It offers some quite usable extras, which are commonly found in premium AV products. In particular, the features of the built-in firewall and parental control are worth mentioning.

The firewall is simple but effective for comprehensive protection of the home network. You can manage its settings right from the Windows Defender Security Center. Choose manually what apps you want to allow or forbid through the firewall.

The anti-phishing feature of Windows Defender works great for the “native” browsers of Microsoft – Internet Explorer and Edge. The trouble is that most of us actively use alternative browsers, such as Google Chrome, Firefox, etc. In this case, it is necessary to install the Defender’s plug-in separately.

Windows Defender Review - Is Windows Defender Good?

Also, Windows Defender offers the feature of ransomware protection. Frankly speaking, it is a sort of basic, but it works. To protect important files from blocking and subsequent elimination by scammers, you may safely store their copies in the One Drive cloud.

The feature of parental control in Windows Defender is absolutely marvelous, especially taking into account the fact that it is free. You can create separate accounts for all family members and control them from the “main” (admin) account. Moreover, it is possible to set various parameters and limits for different accounts. For example, you can protect children from undesired content by setting limitations in the Edge browser and blocking access to alternative browsers.

Tamper Protection

To put it simply, TP stops malware from turning the Win Defender off. Microsoft made it globally available in October 2019, significantly improving its antivirus product’s security. According to the official statement, with Tamper Protection active, hackers won’t be able to turn off real-time, cloud-based, and virus-threat protection.

Furthermore, the malware won’t disable behavior monitoring, security updates, and various other components. This brand-new feature is now available for both the free and commercial editions of the Microsoft Defender. The users don’t have to do anything to activate it: Tamper Protection will automatically “kick in” the second they update the antivirus.

Still, if you want to disable/enable it, go Start, Win Security, Virus/threat protection, Settings, and click “on” or “off” under the Tamper Protection menu. Please keep in mind that this feature is only available for Windows 10.

Microsoft Defender Advanced Threat Protection

That is a unified platform for real-time, preventive, and after-the-fact protection. The company offers a free trial that allows testing the product and seeing whether it’s a good fit or not. The synchronized defense is one of ATP’s most significant advantages. Thanks to this feature, Microsoft 365 shares resources across devices and identities, which means more security.

Remember: this is an endpoint protection platform and is intended for businesses. Thanks to constant updates, Advanced Threat Protection can easily detect zero-day attacks, breaches, and deal with the threats immediately. Currently, it is available for Windows Server 2016, 2019, and 2012R2. The list of operating systems includes Win 10, 8.1 7 (SP1), and macOS.

Android, iOS, and Linux are also supported (via partners). Overall, the Microsoft Defender ATP is a powerful tool against outside threats for business owners.

Can I Use It on My Mac?

Just a year ago everyone would laugh if you’d ask that question. But, as of the latest updates, Microsoft company has actually introduced the antivirus protection for MacOS devices: Microsoft Defender. We won’t be making a separate review for that product as it is pretty simple and has the same anti-virus core as the Windows Defender. Just watch the video or follow the instructions to get the idea on how it works and how to install it on your MacBook, iMac, Mac Mini or Mac Pro. Warning: the installation of this product might be tricky for non-tech oriented people. So, it’s better to ask for assistance in case you’re not sure.

Windows Defender Performance

Previously in our Windows Defender review, we mentioned that this software has minimal impact on the system performance. It is an integral part of Windows 8 and Windows 10 OS, so it runs as seamlessly as other basic system components. It doesn’t slow down a computer; in most cases, its background scanning is absolutely unnoticeable.

Ease of Use

Usability is an important characteristic of any software product. When it comes to using Windows Defender, its interface is pretty simple for everyone who has ever dealt with native Microsoft products. But even inexperienced users have nothing to worry about, as Windows Defender comes pre-installed, and its basic features are enabled by default.

However, it doesn’t mean you can’t configure Windows Defender according to your needs. Advanced users can easily set the desired settings with a couple of clicks. To adjust the settings, open the Windows Defender Security Center, which can be found in the Update & Security section of the Settings menu.

Customer Support

Microsoft community is one of the largest in the world. The company offers numerous detailed FAQs and forums where you can find answers to most questions. Besides, you can get in touch with tech specialists directly via several channels: online chat, e-mail or by phone. However, there is no dedicated support for Windows Defender; instead, the support service covers all the Microsoft products.

On the plus side, you can find tons of useful information without the need of contacting customer support. On the minus side, if you need to consult a tech specialist directly, it will take you longer than you can expect because of the lack of a dedicated support line.

Windows Defender FAQ

Best Windows Defender Alternatives

Looking for good alternatives to Windows Defender? We can help you:

What is Windows Defender?

This is a built-in antivirus solution used by default in Windows 8.1 and 10. It is free, lightweight, and easy to use application that does not impact the system resources. So, it's a great product for weak computers or for those who are not ready to buy an advanced antivirus.

Is Windows Defender safe to use?

In general, yes, it is a quite reliable product to protect against the most popular dangers. It does not need a lot of system resources and is almost invisible. At the same time, it is not very effective against the majority of advanced malware and ransomware.

Is Windows Defender enough for PC?

No, it is not, if you care about real security and privacy. According to many tests from different antivirus labs, Windows Defender does not demonstrate good results. However, it takes its positions in top 10. So, if you do not need powerful protection, you can use Windows Defender.

How do I enable Windows Defender?

On your Windows 10 PC, open Settings — Update & Security — Windows Security — Virus & threat protection — Virus & threat protection settings — Manage settings — check Real-time protection, Cloud-delivered protection, Automatic sample submission, Tamper protection. Read our review for more details.

How to turn off Windows Defender?

On your Windows 10 PC, open Settings — Update & Security — Windows Security — Virus & threat protection — Virus & threat protection settings — Manage settings — uncheck Real-time protection, Cloud-delivered protection, Automatic sample submission, Tamper protection. Read our review for more details.

Leave Your Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • AvatarJake says:

    I just completed my upgrade of the Windows Defender anti-virus. I must say, it is cool, but I can hardly tell the difference between the versions.. Good firewall service but not so user-friendly interface.

  • Avatarjoseph says:

    Windows Defender will immediately scan any external device that is placed on your computer, it is a nice idea, but then I think the developer should upgrade the software to identify devices that it has previously scanned, so it doesn’t keep scanning a device more than once daily. My own thoughts tho…the firewall service is also commendable.

  • Avatarjenna says:

    I am so happy to have this software. Free and I have no viruses! However, my laptop overheats from time to time…

  • AvatarNelson says:

    Windows Defender is a good anti-virus with a quite slow customer support. There is something I don’t like though – it misses some malware sometimes. Microsoft have managed to create a good product, though.

  • AvatarSweet Lola says:

    I appreciate all the effort windows defender makes to give internet security, but then in some cases it might not be enough. Also they have a good last version hence I could stick with that for a while before I get enough cash to buy Avast.

  • AvatarDaleos says:

    The only time I recommend full priced consumer AV software is for people who don’t really know their way around PCs/the internet or if they want additional security apps like password managers or encryption tools. Windows Defender is totally fine for those with just an ounce of awareness. It’s only when you start putting AV in business networks do paid for services have any noticeable benefit. However, even in those cases, a UTM or next gen firewall is more cost effective and strains individual PCs less than all these belt, braces and kitchen sink AV products.

  • AvatarErik says:

    Windows Defender would usually slow down some of my Windows computers. Except when the computer has a RAM size of more than 4gig, I won’t recommend it for you.

  • AvatarBruce W says:

    it is simple and easy to use. I like the way the scan option is placed in a conspicuous way that would help everyone locate it.

  • AvatarSylvia says:

    Please, who can help me on how to upgrade Windows Defender?

    • AvatarKelly A. Green says:

      Hello, Sylvia! It suggests to download and install updates automatically with the system update (if you accept it – your Windows Defender will be updated). Hope it helped!

  • AvatarFlo says:

    Got a new windows computer last week, the last one I had was sold because I had several issues with viruses on it. I launched Windows Defender on this computer, scan to check for viruses, and it has been working fine since. Thanks for the review!

  • AvatarBrenda says:

    Can I have someone direct me if I had done the right thing? Anytime I have to scan through my system with the Windows Defender; my system always slows down. I hope this problem is not only with my PC.

  • Avatarlou says:

    I like the way I was attended to. I think if every brand can respond to their client just like the way Windows Defender (hi, Microsoft!) did, then we would have a better world. Kudos guys.

  • AvatarKarl Jackson says:

    Windows Defender’s current version (4.18.1909.6) updated October 8, 2019 is a winner. 3rd party a/v companies are worried that people will stop buying their product.
    Testing labs give it top marks and it doesn’t cause download problems with Windows 10 updates.

  • AvatarJacob Richardson says:

    Terrible!

  • Avatarkim says:

    I have an older computer and I just got duped for $500!! Not sure who gets Microsoft defender for free, but it certainly wasn’t me! Pissed doesn’t come close to how I’m feeling right now. BUYER BEWARE!!

  • AvatarSarah Wangona says:

    This is a great news that i must share with you all i have been looking for a way to break into my wife phone because she has a pass-code on her phone and always receiving late night calls and text messages i have been suspecting her for past 1 year then i contacted this hacker named WILLIAMS TECH who helped me hack into her phone and got me results under 24 hours he got me results of her call logs, text messages and even deleted text messages i was so happy to find out the truth about my wife i never knew she was a big time cheat until the HACKER WISETECH helped me, his prices are affordable contact him if you want to know more about your spouse and your relationship state and other services. Email. (wisetechhacker @ gmail.com) . com whatsapp no+(+1 518-749-2846)