Wir überprüfen Produkte unabhängig, aber wir können Provisionen verdienen, wenn Sie einen Kauf über Affiliate-Links auf unserer Website tätigen. Wir sind keine Antiviren-Software; wir stellen nur Informationen über einige Produkte zur Verfügung.
Rating: 7.6 / 10 (Downloaded by users)
Besuchen Sie

Windows Defender Überblick 2020

76%

Überprüfung von Windows Defender: Taugt Windows Defender etwas?

Windows Defender ist das proprietäre Anti-Malware-Tool von Microsoft, das standardmäßig in Windows 8.1 und Windows 10 verwendet wird. Zum Zeitpunkt seiner Erstellung war es eher beschnitten und ineffektiv, was zu einem Ausbruch von Kritik führte. Seitdem ist es jedoch ernsthaft verbessert worden, so dass es im Jahr 2020 sehr beliebt sein wird. Vor allem, weil es zu einem der besten freien Antiviren in seinem Segment wurde.

Total Av Flash-Verkauf

Ab heute ist es ein Antivirenprodukt mit vollem Funktionsumfang, das einen starken Malware-Schutz und einige nützliche Extras bietet. Es wird von den weltweit führenden AV-Testlabors hoch geschätzt (obwohl Avast free immer noch besser abschneidet). Windows Defender erkennt und entfernt fast 100 % aller Cyber-Bedrohungen ohne starke Beeinträchtigung der Systemleistung.

Gleichzeitig fehlen dem Defender noch immer einige wichtige Funktionen, die von führenden Antiviren-Suites angeboten werden. Außerdem ist seine Leistung nicht völlig fehlerfrei, insbesondere wenn es zu Fehlalarmen kommt. Schließlich bietet Microsoft keinen speziellen Kundensupport für Windows Defender-Benutzer an.

Ist Windows Defender also ausreichend für einen normalen Benutzer? Das hängt von der Art der Internetaktivität des Benutzers, seinen Erwartungen und Prioritäten ab. Fortgeschrittene Benutzer möchten sich vielleicht für alternative Antivirenprodukte entscheiden, die alle ihre Bedürfnisse abdecken: TotalAV, Avast oder Bitdefender

Für und Wider

Wir mögen:
  • Es ist absolut kostenlos
  • Es ist vorinstalliert
  • Keine Auswirkungen auf die Systemleistung
  • Effektiver Schutz vor Viren und Malware
  • Hat einige nette Extras
  • Leicht zu bedienen
  • Schutz vor Free Ransomware
Wir mögen nicht:
  • Die Ergebnisse in den Tests sind gemischt
  • Die Anzahl der zusätzlichen Funktionen ist begrenzt

Höhepunkte

  • Bietet robusten Schutz vor den meisten Arten von Malware
  • Hat eine integrierte Firewall
  • Phishing-Schutz für IE- und Edge-Browser
  • Kindersicherungsfunktion ist verfügbar
  • Wird vorinstalliert in Windows-Betriebssystem geliefert; der Schutz ist standardmäßig aktiviert

Merkmale

Preise
Preis
$0
Geld-zurück-Garantie
Scannen
Echtzeit-Antivirus
Manuelle Virenprüfung
USB-Virus-Scan
Registrierungs-Startscan
Automatische Virenprüfung
Geplanter Scan
Art der Bedrohung
Anti-Spyware
Anti-Wurm
Anti-Trojaner
Anti-Rootkit
Anti-Phishing
Anti-Spam
Chat/IM-Schutz
Adware-Prävention
Kompatibilität
Windows
Mac
Android
IOS
Verwendung
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
Zusätzliche Merkmale
Persönliche Firewall
Elterliche Kontrolle
Spiele-Modus
VPN-Dienst
Smartphone-Optimiere
Geräte-Abstimmung
Sicherer Browser
Support
Live-Unterstützung
Telefonische Unterstützung
Ticket-Unterstützung

Am besten für

  • Anfänger auf dem Gebiet der Computernutzung
  • Regelmäßige Benutzer mit grundlegenden Anforderungen an den Schutz
  • Diejenigen, die schwache Computer verwenden, die die Auswirkungen moderner Antiviren-Suiten auf das System nicht ertragen können

Verlässlichkeit und Sicherheit

Bevor wir über die Funktionen und Fähigkeiten der Software sprechen, lassen Sie uns eine Frage beantworten, die von größter Bedeutung ist: Ist Windows Defender gut genug, um Sie vor Viren und Malware zu schützen? Die Antwort lautet: Ja, das ist es. Windows 10 Defender leistet gute Arbeit beim Auffinden und Entfernen der meisten Cyber-Bedrohungen. Dies wird von den wichtigsten unabhängigen Testlabors der Welt bestätigt.

AV-Test, eines der bekanntesten Labors der Welt, hat Windows Defender wiederholt als eines der zehn zuverlässigsten Antiviren-Softwarepakete eingestuft (lesen Sie mehr über den besten Virenschutz für Windows 10). Es ist zwar in der Lage, bis zu 100% der bekannten und Zero-Day-Bedrohungen zu erkennen, die Rate der so genannten False Positives ist jedoch etwas höher als der Durchschnitt.

Andere große Labors veröffentlichten 2019 weniger beruhigende Zahlen. AV-Comparatives schätzen die Sicherheitssuite Defender auf 98,4 Punkte und erwähnen gleichzeitig ihre inkonsistente Leistung und die hohe Rate an Fehlalarmen. Schließlich gibt SE Labs nur einen Wert von 96% an, was im Vergleich zu den besten AV-Suites wie Bitdefender oder Kaspersky recht niedrig ist.

In unseren Tests hat Windows Defender erfolgreich 100 % der bekannten Bedrohungen und 100 % der unbekannten (neu erstellten) Muster erkannt. Allerdings wurden 2 gefälschte Bedrohungen „gefunden“ – harmlose Softwareteile, die als verdächtig gekennzeichnet waren.

Optionen zum Scannen

Microsoft Antivirus: Windows Defender-Sicherheitscenter

Standardmäßig ist der Echtzeitschutz mit Windows Defender eingeschaltet. Das bedeutet, dass die Sicherheitssoftware ständig im Hintergrund ihre Arbeit verrichtet. Die Auswirkungen auf das System sind minimal, so dass Sie sie in den meisten Fällen einfach nicht bemerken. Sobald eine neue Bedrohung erkannt wird, erhalten Sie eine Benachrichtigung vom Defender.

Außerdem können Sie jederzeit manuell zusätzliche Scans starten, wenn Sie dies wünschen. Wählen Sie einfach einen Ordner oder eine Datei, die Sie scannen möchten, und klicken Sie mit der rechten Maustaste darauf. Wählen Sie im Kontextmenü Mit Windows Defender scannen und wählen Sie im Windows Defender-Sicherheitscenter zwischen den Optionen Vollständiger Scan, Benutzerdefinierter Scan und Offline-Scan.

Zusätzliche Funktionen

Auch wenn wir nicht sagen können, dass Windows Defender reich an Funktionen ist, so ist es doch mehr als nur ein bloßer Virenschutz. Es bietet einige recht brauchbare Extras, die üblicherweise in Premium-AV-Produkten zu finden sind. Insbesondere die Funktionen der integrierten Firewall und der Kindersicherung sind erwähnenswert.

Die Firewall ist einfach, aber effektiv für einen umfassenden Schutz des Heimnetzwerks. Sie können ihre Einstellungen direkt über das Windows Defender-Sicherheitscenter verwalten. Wählen Sie manuell, welche Anwendungen Sie durch die Firewall zulassen oder verbieten möchten.

Die Anti-Phishing-Funktion von Windows Defender funktioniert hervorragend mit den „nativen“ Browsern von Microsoft – Internet Explorer und Edge. Das Problem ist, dass die meisten von uns aktiv alternative Browser wie Google Chrome, Firefox usw. verwenden. In diesem Fall ist es notwendig, das Plug-in des Defender separat zu installieren.

Windows Defender Review - Ist Windows Defender gut?

Außerdem bietet Windows Defender die Funktion des Schutzes vor Lösegeldforderungen. Ehrlich gesagt ist es eine Art Basisschutz, aber es funktioniert. Um wichtige Dateien vor der Blockierung und anschließenden Eliminierung durch Betrüger zu schützen, können Sie deren Kopien sicher in der One Drive-Cloud speichern.

Die Funktion der Kindersicherung in Windows Defender ist absolut wunderbar, besonders wenn man die Tatsache berücksichtigt, dass sie kostenlos ist. Sie können separate Konten für alle Familienmitglieder erstellen und sie vom „Hauptkonto“ (Admin) aus steuern. Außerdem ist es möglich, verschiedene Parameter und Grenzen für verschiedene Konten festzulegen. Beispielsweise können Sie Kinder vor unerwünschten Inhalten schützen, indem Sie Einschränkungen im Edge-Browser festlegen und den Zugang zu alternativen Browsern blockieren.

Manipulationsschutz

Vereinfacht ausgedrückt: TP hindert Malware daran, den Win Defender auszuschalten. Microsoft hat es im Oktober 2019 weltweit verfügbar gemacht und damit die Sicherheit seines Antivirenprodukts erheblich verbessert. Laut der offiziellen Erklärung werden Hacker mit aktiviertem Manipulationsschutz nicht in der Lage sein, den Echtzeit-, Cloud-basierten und Virusbedrohungsschutz abzuschalten.

Darüber hinaus wird die Malware die Verhaltensüberwachung, Sicherheitsupdates und verschiedene andere Komponenten nicht deaktivieren können. Diese brandneue Funktion ist jetzt sowohl für die kostenlose als auch für die kommerzielle Version von Microsoft Defender verfügbar. Die Benutzer müssen nichts tun, um sie zu aktivieren: Der Manipulationsschutz tritt automatisch in Kraft, sobald sie das Antivirenprogramm aktualisieren.

Wenn Sie die Funktion dennoch deaktivieren/aktivieren möchten, gehen Sie zu Start, Sicherheit, Viren-/Bedrohungsschutz, Einstellungen und klicken Sie unter dem Menü Manipulationsschutz auf „an“ oder „aus“. Bitte denken Sie daran, dass diese Funktion nur für Windows 10 verfügbar ist.

Microsoft Defender Erweiterter Schutz vor Bedrohungen

Das ist eine einheitliche Plattform für Echtzeit-, präventiven und nachträglichen Schutz. Das Unternehmen bietet eine kostenlose Testversion an, mit der man das Produkt testen und feststellen kann, ob es gut passt oder nicht. Die synchronisierte Verteidigung ist einer der wichtigsten Vorteile von ATP. Dank dieser Funktion teilt Microsoft 365 Ressourcen über Geräte und Identitäten hinweg, was mehr Sicherheit bedeutet.

Denken Sie daran: Dies ist eine Plattform für den Endpunktschutz und ist für Unternehmen gedacht. Dank ständiger Aktualisierungen kann Advanced Threat Protection Zero-Day-Angriffe und -Verletzungen leicht erkennen und sofort mit den Bedrohungen fertig werden. Derzeit ist sie für Windows Server 2016, 2019 und 2012R2 verfügbar. Die Liste der Betriebssysteme umfasst Win 10, 8.1 7 (SP1) und MacOS.

Android, iOS und Linux werden ebenfalls unterstützt (über Partner). Insgesamt ist das Microsoft Defender ATP für Geschäftsinhaber ein leistungsstarkes Werkzeug gegen Bedrohungen von außen.

Kann ich es auf meinem Mac verwenden?

Noch vor einem Jahr hätte jeder gelacht, wenn Sie diese Frage gestellt hätten. Aber seit den letzten Updates hat die Firma Microsoft den Virenschutz für MacOS-Geräte tatsächlich eingeführt: Microsoft Defender. Wir werden für dieses Produkt keine separate Prüfung durchführen, da es ziemlich einfach ist und denselben Virenschutzkern wie der Windows Defender hat. Schauen Sie sich einfach das Video an oder folgen Sie den Anweisungen, um eine Vorstellung davon zu bekommen, wie es funktioniert und wie Sie es auf Ihrem MacBook, iMac, Mac Mini oder Mac Pro installieren können. Warnung: Die Installation dieses Produkts kann für nicht technisch orientierte Personen schwierig sein. Es ist also besser, um Hilfe zu bitten, falls Sie sich nicht sicher sind.

Leistung von Windows Defender

Zuvor haben wir in unserem Bericht über Windows Defender erwähnt, dass diese Software nur minimale Auswirkungen auf die Systemleistung hat. Sie ist ein integraler Bestandteil des Betriebssystems Windows 8 und Windows 10, so dass sie ebenso nahtlos wie andere grundlegende Systemkomponenten läuft. Sie verlangsamt einen Computer nicht; in den meisten Fällen ist ihre Hintergrundsuche absolut unbemerkt.

Benutzerfreundlichkeit

Benutzerfreundlichkeit ist ein wichtiges Merkmal jedes Softwareprodukts. Wenn es um die Verwendung von Windows Defender geht, ist seine Benutzeroberfläche für jeden, der jemals mit nativen Microsoft-Produkten zu tun hatte, ziemlich einfach. Aber selbst unerfahrene Benutzer brauchen sich keine Sorgen zu machen, da Windows Defender vorinstalliert ist und seine Grundfunktionen standardmäßig aktiviert sind.

Das bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass Sie Windows Defender nicht nach Ihren Bedürfnissen konfigurieren können. Fortgeschrittene Benutzer können die gewünschten Einstellungen ganz einfach mit ein paar Klicks vornehmen. Um die Einstellungen anzupassen, öffnen Sie das Windows Defender-Sicherheitscenter, das im Abschnitt Update & Sicherheit des Menüs Einstellungen zu finden ist.

Kundensupport

Die Microsoft-Community ist eine der größten der Welt. Das Unternehmen bietet zahlreiche detaillierte FAQs und Foren, in denen Sie Antworten auf die meisten Fragen finden können. Außerdem können Sie über verschiedene Kanäle direkt mit technischen Spezialisten in Kontakt treten: Online-Chat, E-Mail oder per Telefon. Es gibt jedoch keinen speziellen Support für Windows Defender; stattdessen deckt der Supportdienst alle Microsoft-Produkte ab.

Das Gute daran ist, dass Sie viele nützliche Informationen finden können, ohne sich an den Kundensupport wenden zu müssen. Wenn Sie sich direkt an einen technischen Spezialisten wenden müssen, werden Sie länger brauchen, als Sie erwarten können, da es keine spezielle Support-Leitung gibt.

Windows Defender FAQ

Beste Windows Defender-Alternativen

Auf der Suche nach guten Alternativen zu Windows Defender? Wir können Ihnen helfen:

Was ist Windows Defender?

Hierbei handelt es sich um eine integrierte Virenschutzlösung, die standardmäßig in Windows 8.1 und 10 verwendet wird. Es handelt sich um eine kostenlose, leichtgewichtige und einfach zu bedienende Anwendung, die die Systemressourcen nicht beeinträchtigt. Es ist also ein großartiges Produkt für schwache Computer oder für diejenigen, die nicht bereit sind, ein fortschrittliches Antivirenprogramm zu kaufen.

Ist Windows Defender sicher in der Anwendung?

Im Allgemeinen, ja, es ist ein recht zuverlässiges Produkt zum Schutz gegen die populärsten Gefahren. Es benötigt nicht viele Systemressourcen und ist fast unsichtbar. Gleichzeitig ist es nicht sehr effektiv gegen die meisten fortgeschrittenen Malware- und Lösegeldprogramme.

Ist Windows Defender ausreichend für PC?

Nein, ist es nicht, wenn Sie sich um wirkliche Sicherheit und Privatsphäre kümmern. Nach vielen Tests aus verschiedenen Antiviren-Labors zeigt Windows Defender keine guten Ergebnisse. Es nimmt jedoch seine Positionen unter den Top 10 ein. Wenn Sie also keinen leistungsstarken Schutz benötigen, können Sie Windows Defender verwenden.

Wie aktiviere ich Windows Defender?

Öffnen Sie auf Ihrem Windows 10 PC Einstellungen - Update & Sicherheit - Windows Sicherheit - Virus & Bedrohungsschutz - Virus & Einstellungen für den Bedrohungsschutz - Einstellungen verwalten - Echtzeitschutz, Cloud-delivered Schutz, Automatische Musterübermittlung, Manipulationsschutz. Lesen Sie unsere Rezension für weitere Details.

Wie deaktiviert man Windows Defender?

Öffnen Sie auf Ihrem Windows 10-PC Einstellungen - Update & Sicherheit - Windows-Sicherheit - Virus & Bedrohungsschutz - Virus & Einstellungen für den Bedrohungsschutz - Einstellungen verwalten - Deaktivieren Sie Echtzeitschutz, Cloud-delivered Schutz, Automatische Probenübermittlung, Manipulationsschutz. Lesen Sie unsere Rezension für weitere Details.

We review products independently, but we may earn commissions if you make a purchase using affiliate links on our website.
win defender
Rating: 7.6 / 10 (Downloaded by users)
Visit site

Windows Defender Review 2020

win defender
76%

Windows Defender Review: Is Windows Defender any Good?

Windows Defender is Microsoft’s proprietary anti-malware tool that is used in Windows 8.1 and Windows 10 by default. At the time of its creation, it used to be rather cropped and ineffective, which caused an outpouring of criticism. However, it has been seriously improved since then, so in 2020, it has much to be loved for. Especially, because it became one of the best free antiviruses in its segment.

Total Av flash saleAs of today, it is a full-featured antivirus product that provides strong malware protection and some useful extras. It is highly estimated by the world’s leading AV testing labs (though Avast free still scores higher). Windows Defender detects and removes almost 100% of cyber threats without a heavy impact on the system performance.

At the same time, the Defender still lacks some important features offered by top antivirus suites. Also, its performance is not completely flawless, especially when it comes to false positives. Finally, Microsoft doesn’t offer dedicated customer support for Windows Defender users.

So, is Windows Defender enough for a regular user? It depends on the user’s type of Internet activity, his expectations, and priorities. Advanced users may want to opt for alternative antivirus products that cover all their needs: TotalAV, Avast or Bitdefender

Pros and Cons

We like:
  • It is absolutely free
  • It comes pre-installed
  • No impact on the system performance
  • Effectively protects from viruses and malware
  • Has some nice extras
  • Easy to use
  • Free ransomware protection
We don’t like:
  • Scores in the tests are mixed
  • The number of extra features is limited

Highlights

  • Provides robust protection from most types of malware
  • Has a built-in firewall
  • Phishing protection for IE and Edge browsers
  • Parental control feature is available
  • Comes pre-installed in Windows OS; protection is enabled by default

Features

Pricing
Price
$0
Money back Guarantee
Scanning
Real-time Antivirus
Manual Virus Scanning
USB Virus Scan
Registry Startup Scan
Auto Virus Scanning
Scheduled scan
Threat type
Anti-Spyware
Anti-Worm
Anti-Trojan
Anti-Rootkit
Anti-Phishing
Anti-Spam
Chat/IM Protection
Adware Prevention
Compatibility
Windows
Mac
Android
IOS
Usage
Ease of use
Extra features
Personal Firewall
Parental Controls
Gamer Mode
VPN Service
Smartphone Optimizer
Device Tune-up
Safe browser
Support
Live Help
Phone support
Ticket support

Best For

  • Beginners in the field of computer usage
  • Regular users with basic requirements for protection
  • Those using weak computers, which can’t bear the impact on the system produced by modern antivirus suites

Reliability and Security

Before we start talking about the features and the capabilities of the software, let’s answer one question, which is of primary importance: is Windows Defender good enough to protect you from viruses and malware? The answer is yes, it is. Windows 10 Defender does a decent job in finding and removing most cyber threats. This is confirmed by the world’s major independent testing labs.

AV-Test, which is one of the world’s best-known laboratories, has repeatedly ranked Windows Defender among top-ten antivirus software suites in terms of reliability (read about best antivirus for Windows 10). While it is capable of detecting up to 100% of known and zero-day threats, the rate of so-called false positives is slightly higher than average.

Other major labs published less reassuring figures in 2019. AV-Comparatives estimate Defender security suite at 98.4 points while mentioning its inconsistent performance and high rate of false positives. Finally, SE Labs gives it just a 96% score, which is quite low if compared to the best AV suites, such as Bitdefender or Kaspersky.

In our tests, Windows Defender successfully detected 100% of known threats and 100% of unknown (newly created) patterns. That said, it “found” 2 fake threats – harmless pieces of software that were marked as suspicious.

Scanning Options

Microsoft Antivirus: Windows Defender Security Center

By default, the real-time protection with Windows Defender is on. It means the security software is constantly doing its work in the background. Its impact on the system is minimal, so in most cases, you simply don’t notice it. As soon as a new threat is detected, you get a notification from Defender.

Besides, you may launch additional scanning manually at any moment if you wish. Just choose a folder or a file you want to scan and right-click it. In the context menu, choose Scan with Windows Defender and select between the Full Scan, Custom Scan, and Offline Scan options in the Windows Defender Security Center.

Additional Features

Though we can’t say that Windows Defender is rich in features, it is still more than just a bare antivirus. It offers some quite usable extras, which are commonly found in premium AV products. In particular, the features of the built-in firewall and parental control are worth mentioning.

The firewall is simple but effective for comprehensive protection of the home network. You can manage its settings right from the Windows Defender Security Center. Choose manually what apps you want to allow or forbid through the firewall.

The anti-phishing feature of Windows Defender works great for the “native” browsers of Microsoft – Internet Explorer and Edge. The trouble is that most of us actively use alternative browsers, such as Google Chrome, Firefox, etc. In this case, it is necessary to install the Defender’s plug-in separately.

Windows Defender Review - Is Windows Defender Good?

Also, Windows Defender offers the feature of ransomware protection. Frankly speaking, it is a sort of basic, but it works. To protect important files from blocking and subsequent elimination by scammers, you may safely store their copies in the One Drive cloud.

The feature of parental control in Windows Defender is absolutely marvelous, especially taking into account the fact that it is free. You can create separate accounts for all family members and control them from the “main” (admin) account. Moreover, it is possible to set various parameters and limits for different accounts. For example, you can protect children from undesired content by setting limitations in the Edge browser and blocking access to alternative browsers.

Tamper Protection

To put it simply, TP stops malware from turning the Win Defender off. Microsoft made it globally available in October 2019, significantly improving its antivirus product’s security. According to the official statement, with Tamper Protection active, hackers won’t be able to turn off real-time, cloud-based, and virus-threat protection.

Furthermore, the malware won’t disable behavior monitoring, security updates, and various other components. This brand-new feature is now available for both the free and commercial editions of the Microsoft Defender. The users don’t have to do anything to activate it: Tamper Protection will automatically “kick in” the second they update the antivirus.

Still, if you want to disable/enable it, go Start, Win Security, Virus/threat protection, Settings, and click “on” or “off” under the Tamper Protection menu. Please keep in mind that this feature is only available for Windows 10.

Microsoft Defender Advanced Threat Protection

That is a unified platform for real-time, preventive, and after-the-fact protection. The company offers a free trial that allows testing the product and seeing whether it’s a good fit or not. The synchronized defense is one of ATP’s most significant advantages. Thanks to this feature, Microsoft 365 shares resources across devices and identities, which means more security.

Remember: this is an endpoint protection platform and is intended for businesses. Thanks to constant updates, Advanced Threat Protection can easily detect zero-day attacks, breaches, and deal with the threats immediately. Currently, it is available for Windows Server 2016, 2019, and 2012R2. The list of operating systems includes Win 10, 8.1 7 (SP1), and macOS.

Android, iOS, and Linux are also supported (via partners). Overall, the Microsoft Defender ATP is a powerful tool against outside threats for business owners.

Can I Use It on My Mac?

Just a year ago everyone would laugh if you’d ask that question. But, as of the latest updates, Microsoft company has actually introduced the antivirus protection for MacOS devices: Microsoft Defender. We won’t be making a separate review for that product as it is pretty simple and has the same anti-virus core as the Windows Defender. Just watch the video or follow the instructions to get the idea on how it works and how to install it on your MacBook, iMac, Mac Mini or Mac Pro. Warning: the installation of this product might be tricky for non-tech oriented people. So, it’s better to ask for assistance in case you’re not sure.

Windows Defender Performance

Previously in our Windows Defender review, we mentioned that this software has minimal impact on the system performance. It is an integral part of Windows 8 and Windows 10 OS, so it runs as seamlessly as other basic system components. It doesn’t slow down a computer; in most cases, its background scanning is absolutely unnoticeable.

Ease of Use

Usability is an important characteristic of any software product. When it comes to using Windows Defender, its interface is pretty simple for everyone who has ever dealt with native Microsoft products. But even inexperienced users have nothing to worry about, as Windows Defender comes pre-installed, and its basic features are enabled by default.

However, it doesn’t mean you can’t configure Windows Defender according to your needs. Advanced users can easily set the desired settings with a couple of clicks. To adjust the settings, open the Windows Defender Security Center, which can be found in the Update & Security section of the Settings menu.

Customer Support

Microsoft community is one of the largest in the world. The company offers numerous detailed FAQs and forums where you can find answers to most questions. Besides, you can get in touch with tech specialists directly via several channels: online chat, e-mail or by phone. However, there is no dedicated support for Windows Defender; instead, the support service covers all the Microsoft products.

On the plus side, you can find tons of useful information without the need of contacting customer support. On the minus side, if you need to consult a tech specialist directly, it will take you longer than you can expect because of the lack of a dedicated support line.

Windows Defender FAQ

Best Windows Defender Alternatives

Looking for good alternatives to Windows Defender? We can help you:

What is Windows Defender?

This is a built-in antivirus solution used by default in Windows 8.1 and 10. It is free, lightweight, and easy to use application that does not impact the system resources. So, it's a great product for weak computers or for those who are not ready to buy an advanced antivirus.

Is Windows Defender safe to use?

In general, yes, it is a quite reliable product to protect against the most popular dangers. It does not need a lot of system resources and is almost invisible. At the same time, it is not very effective against the majority of advanced malware and ransomware.

Is Windows Defender enough for PC?

No, it is not, if you care about real security and privacy. According to many tests from different antivirus labs, Windows Defender does not demonstrate good results. However, it takes its positions in top 10. So, if you do not need powerful protection, you can use Windows Defender.

How do I enable Windows Defender?

On your Windows 10 PC, open Settings — Update & Security — Windows Security — Virus & threat protection — Virus & threat protection settings — Manage settings — check Real-time protection, Cloud-delivered protection, Automatic sample submission, Tamper protection. Read our review for more details.

How to turn off Windows Defender?

On your Windows 10 PC, open Settings — Update & Security — Windows Security — Virus & threat protection — Virus & threat protection settings — Manage settings — uncheck Real-time protection, Cloud-delivered protection, Automatic sample submission, Tamper protection. Read our review for more details.

Leave Your Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • AvatarJake says:

    I just completed my upgrade of the Windows Defender anti-virus. I must say, it is cool, but I can hardly tell the difference between the versions.. Good firewall service but not so user-friendly interface.

  • Avatarjoseph says:

    Windows Defender will immediately scan any external device that is placed on your computer, it is a nice idea, but then I think the developer should upgrade the software to identify devices that it has previously scanned, so it doesn’t keep scanning a device more than once daily. My own thoughts tho…the firewall service is also commendable.

  • Avatarjenna says:

    I am so happy to have this software. Free and I have no viruses! However, my laptop overheats from time to time…

  • AvatarNelson says:

    Windows Defender is a good anti-virus with a quite slow customer support. There is something I don’t like though – it misses some malware sometimes. Microsoft have managed to create a good product, though.

  • AvatarSweet Lola says:

    I appreciate all the effort windows defender makes to give internet security, but then in some cases it might not be enough. Also they have a good last version hence I could stick with that for a while before I get enough cash to buy Avast.

  • AvatarDaleos says:

    The only time I recommend full priced consumer AV software is for people who don’t really know their way around PCs/the internet or if they want additional security apps like password managers or encryption tools. Windows Defender is totally fine for those with just an ounce of awareness. It’s only when you start putting AV in business networks do paid for services have any noticeable benefit. However, even in those cases, a UTM or next gen firewall is more cost effective and strains individual PCs less than all these belt, braces and kitchen sink AV products.

  • AvatarErik says:

    Windows Defender would usually slow down some of my Windows computers. Except when the computer has a RAM size of more than 4gig, I won’t recommend it for you.

  • AvatarBruce W says:

    it is simple and easy to use. I like the way the scan option is placed in a conspicuous way that would help everyone locate it.

  • AvatarSylvia says:

    Please, who can help me on how to upgrade Windows Defender?

    • AvatarKelly A. Green says:

      Hello, Sylvia! It suggests to download and install updates automatically with the system update (if you accept it – your Windows Defender will be updated). Hope it helped!

  • AvatarFlo says:

    Got a new windows computer last week, the last one I had was sold because I had several issues with viruses on it. I launched Windows Defender on this computer, scan to check for viruses, and it has been working fine since. Thanks for the review!

  • AvatarBrenda says:

    Can I have someone direct me if I had done the right thing? Anytime I have to scan through my system with the Windows Defender; my system always slows down. I hope this problem is not only with my PC.

  • Avatarlou says:

    I like the way I was attended to. I think if every brand can respond to their client just like the way Windows Defender (hi, Microsoft!) did, then we would have a better world. Kudos guys.

  • AvatarKarl Jackson says:

    Windows Defender’s current version (4.18.1909.6) updated October 8, 2019 is a winner. 3rd party a/v companies are worried that people will stop buying their product.
    Testing labs give it top marks and it doesn’t cause download problems with Windows 10 updates.

  • AvatarJacob Richardson says:

    Terrible!

  • Avatarkim says:

    I have an older computer and I just got duped for $500!! Not sure who gets Microsoft defender for free, but it certainly wasn’t me! Pissed doesn’t come close to how I’m feeling right now. BUYER BEWARE!!

  • AvatarSarah Wangona says:

    This is a great news that i must share with you all i have been looking for a way to break into my wife phone because she has a pass-code on her phone and always receiving late night calls and text messages i have been suspecting her for past 1 year then i contacted this hacker named WILLIAMS TECH who helped me hack into her phone and got me results under 24 hours he got me results of her call logs, text messages and even deleted text messages i was so happy to find out the truth about my wife i never knew she was a big time cheat until the HACKER WISETECH helped me, his prices are affordable contact him if you want to know more about your spouse and your relationship state and other services. Email. (wisetechhacker @ gmail.com) . com whatsapp no+(+1 518-749-2846)